eTurboNews - Independent and Global Travel, Tourism, Lifestyle, Entertainment News you only find here

Travel News Distribution powered by eTurboNews:

WTTC Announces Judges for 2008 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards

WTTC Announces Judges for 2008 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards ( The World Travel&Tourism Council (WTTC) announces the Judges for the 2008 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards. The Awards, which focus on best practices in sustainable tourism, are known to be the most prestigious accolade in the Travel&Tourism industry and have gained international recognition for their rigorous three-step judging process.

Costas Christ, Chairman of Judges for the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards and a world-renowned expert in sustainable tourism said, “The high calibre of our international judging panel and the rigorous on site inspection process is what distinguishes these prestigious Awards, bringing global recognition to the world’s best practice examples of sustainable tourism. Our goal is to encourage the travel and tourism industry to play a larger role in protecting the cultural and natural heritage of our planet while also delivering tangible local economic benefits.”

This year’s judges on the Finalist Selection Committee are:

 Dr Peter Burns, Professor, Centre for Tourism Policy Studies, University of Brighton, UK
 Tony Charters, Principal, Tony Charters&Associates, Australia
 Nicky Fitzgerald, Senior Director, CC Africa, South Africa
 Erika Harms, Executive Director of Sustainable Development, United Nations Foundation, Costa Rica&USA
 Marilú Hernández, President, Fundacion Hacinedas del Mundo Mayas, Mexico
 Dr Janne J Liburd, Associate Professor, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark&Chair, BEST Education Network
 Brian Mullis, President, Sustainable Travel International, USA
 Mahen Sangkhrajka, President, Big Five Tours and Expeditions, Kenya
 Mandip Singh Soin FRGS, Founder&Managing Director, Ibex Expeditions (P) Ltd
 Albert Teo, Managing Director, Borneo Eco Tours, Malaysia
 Jessica Hall Upchurch, Director of Sustainability, Virtuoso, USA
 Michelle White, Director, Environmental Affairs, Fairmont Hotels&Resorts, Canada&Global

This internationally acclaimed panel represents the public and private sectors as well as media and academia. Its members will review and select a shortlist of finalists in each of the four award categories to move into the second stage, when on-site inspections will take place. During the third stage of judging, a final judging panel will choose the winner for each category.

Members of the Final Judging Panel include:

 Costas Christ, Chairman of Judges, Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, USA
 María Isabel Salvador, Minister of Tourism, Ecuador
 Graham Boynton, Group Travel Editor, Telegraph Media Group, UK
 Fiona Jeffery, Managing Director, World Travel Market, UK


To find out more about previous winners and to download an application form to be considered for the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, please visit

About WTTC
WTTC is the forum for business leaders in the Travel&Tourism industry. With Chief Executives from one hundred of the world's leading Travel&Tourism companies as its Members, WTTC has a unique mandate and overview on all matters related to Travel&Tourism.

WTTC works to raise awareness of Travel&Tourism as one of the world's largest industries, employing approximately 231 million people and generating over 10 per cent of world GDP.

Contact To find out more about previous winners and to download an application form to be considered for the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, please visit For further information, please contact Susann Kruegel at the World Travel & Tourism Council on telephone number +44 (0) 20 7481 8007, or by email at

+++ Upload Your Press Release +++

Need assistance?

You need a little assistance?Call for help

Subscribe Now!

News Distribution Service

Distribute your press release with our service?

Submit Your Press-release

Latest Travel News