eTurboNews - Independent and Global Travel, Tourism, Lifestyle, Entertainment News you only find here

Travel News Distribution powered by eTurboNews:

Seychelles first ever Electoral Commission sworn into office

Seychelles first ever Electoral Commission sworn into office ( The Seychelles Electoral Commission Chairman, Hendrick Gappy, and three of its members - Bernard Elizabeth, Beatty Hoarau, and Marie-Thérèse Purvis - have been sworn into office at State House Tuesday morning, August 2.

They took their Oath of Allegiance to the Constitution and their Oath of Office in the presence of the President of the Republic of Seychelles, Mr. James Michel.

The ceremony was attended by the Vice-President Danny Faure, the former Speaker of the National Assembly Dr. Patrick Herminie, the Chief Justice, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Frederick Egonda-Ntende, the President of the Court of Appeal Francis MacGregor, and the Attorney General Ronny Govinden.

President Michel congratulated the chairman and members of the Electoral Commission on the start of their new functions, as the first constitutional body of its kind.

“You are the Seychelles’ first Electoral Commission, the result of the evolution of democratic practice and good governance in our young democracy. The people of Seychelles have great expectations of you. Now that you have taken office, and following the dissolution of the National Assembly in July, your first task will be the organization of the legislative elections. This period will be an important test of the Commission’s capacity to organize the elections with efficiency, integrity, and fairness. I wish you every success in your endeavors,” said President Michel.

The President appointed the Electoral Commission on Thursday, July 28, following the nomination of persons by the Constitutional Appointments Authority in accordance of Article 115A of the Constitution. All the appointees had applied to the CAA to be considered for the post.

The fourth member of the Electoral Commission, Gerard Lafortune, is currently overseas and will be sworn in at a later date.

PHOTO: Seychelles President James Michel (center) and the Electoral Commission / Photo from STB

MEDIA CONTACT: Alain St.Ange, CEO, Seychelles Tourism Board, Email:

+++ Upload Your Press Release +++

Need assistance?

You need a little assistance?Call for help

Subscribe Now!

News Distribution Service

Distribute your press release with our service?

Submit Your Press-release

Latest Travel News