eTurboNews - Independent and Global Travel, Tourism, Lifestyle, Entertainment News you only find here

Travel News Distribution powered by eTurboNews:

Newly-appointed board members for National Arts Council

Newly-appointed board members for National Arts Council ( Alain St.Ange, the Seychelles Minister responsible for Tourism and Culture, has announced the appointment of the new Board for the National Arts Council (NAC) which takes office immediately. Minister St.Ange, accompanied by Benjamine Rose, the PS for Culture, this week met with Gabriel Essack, the new Chairperson of the NAC, and Jimmy Savy, the CEO of the Arts Council, at the Ministry's ESPACE Offices. Minister St.Ange started the meeting by expressing his thanks and appreciation for the work and support of the outgoing Board members and spelled out the challenges of the new Board as seen by the Ministry. “We have embarked on a new positioning of culture to be at the base of our tourism industry and in so doing placing our people at the center of our development. To achieve this, we need to ensure Seychelles as a whole respects the culture of our islands and that we all proudly want to stand behind our culture. This is our work," said Minister Alain St.Ange.

The development and the consolidation of arts and culture in Seychelles has in recent years taken a big leap forward, and this has been termed by the artists themselves as a “cultural revolution” in Seychelles. Minister St.Ange has said as he met with Gabriel Essack and Jimmy Savy that the consolidation of arts and culture will be achieved through the work of the NAC at the grassroots level with continued direct involvement with such initiatives such as the District Cultural Awards, among others. “We shall continue to work with all our art and culture groups, as we now engage the Tourism Board as well, to include more Seychellois culture at marketing and sales events overseas," said Minister St.Ange.

The newly-appointed Board members of the National Arts Council for a two-year period are:

1. Gabriel Essack - Chairperson
2. Jimmy Savy - Ex Officio Member
3. Ralph Amesbury - Member
4. John Stravens - Member
5. Leon Radegonde - Member
6. Jenita Laporte - Member
7. Marco Francis - Member


+++ Upload Your Press Release +++

Need assistance?

You need a little assistance?Call for help

Subscribe Now!

News Distribution Service

Distribute your press release with our service?

Submit Your Press-release